Cyberwar comes to Afghanistan

According to the Assiciated Press, Marine Lt. Gen. Richard P. Mills, who led ISAF forces in southwestern Afghanistan in 2010 and 2011, told a defence technology conference earlier this month that the U.S. military has been using cyberwarfare in its fight against Afghan insurgents for at least two years now.

“I can tell you that as a commander in Afghanistan in the year 2010, I was able to use my cyber operations against my adversary with great impact,” Mills told the TechNet Land Forces East conference in Baltimore on Aug. 15.  “I was able to get inside his nets, infect his command-and-control, and in fact defend myself against his almost constant incursions to get inside my wire, to affect my operations.”

Cyber attacks on Iran’s nuclear program linked to the U.S. have received extensive coverage, like the Stuxnet attack three years ago, and the more recent Flame virus (which apparently blasts AC/DC’s ‘Thunderstruck’ from infected workstations).  But the comment from Mills is apparently the first acknowledgement of America’s use of cyberwarfare in the Afghanistan theater.

Leave a Reply

